California Drinking & Driving Consequences

Detailed below are the possible Drinking & Driving consequences for the State of California.  Please note that the drinking and driving consequences vary wildly based upon the facts and circumstances of your recent drunk driving arrest, what jurisdiction you arrest occurred in, and which multiple offender DUI lawyer you hire to advocate on your behalf.

Consequences for your First DUI in California

  •  * Possible Jail Time
  •  * 3, 6, or 9 Month Alcohol School
  •  * Court Fines in Excess of $2,500.00 +
  •  * Driver License Suspension
  •  * MADD Victim Impact Panel
  •  * Morgue Program
  •  * Community Service
  •  * 3-5 years Probation, Formal or Informal


___________________________________


Consequences for a Second DUI in California

  •  * 96 Hours up to 1 year Jail time
  •  * 18 Month Alcohol School
  •  * In Patient/Out-Patient Rehab
  •  * Court Fines in Excess of $2,500.00 +
  •  * 1-2 Years Driver License Suspension
  •  * MADD Victim Impact Panel
  •  * Morgue Program
  •  * Community Service
  •  * 3-5 years Probation, Formal or Informal

___________________________________

Consequences for a Third DUI Offense in California

  •      *Required Jail for 3rd DUI: 120 Days to 1 Year
  •      * Fines $2,500 +
  •      * License Suspension: 3 Years to 10 years
  •      * Ignition Interlock Required
  •      * 18 Month Multiple Offender Alcohol Program
  •      * 3-5 Years Probation, Formal or Informal
  •      * MADD Panel*
  •      * DUI Court*
  •      * Morgue Program*
  •      * Community Service*
  • *Depending on Jurisdiction 

___________________________________

Consequences for a 4th or Felony DUI in California

  •  * Up to 3 years State Prison
  •  * 18 Month Alcohol School
  •  * In Patient/Out-Patient Rehab
  •  * Court Fines in Excess of $2,500.00 +
  •  * 4- 10 Years Driver License Suspension
  •  * MADD Victim Impact Panel
  •  * Morgue Program
  •  * 3-5 years Probation, Formal or Informal

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Consequences & Penalties for a Felony DUI with Injury

  •  * 2-4 Years State Prison
  •  * 18 Month Alcohol School
  •  * In Patient/Out-Patient Rehab
  •  * Court Fines in Excess of $2,500.00 +
  •  * Victim's Restitution (can be in excess of a $100k.)
  •  * 4- 10 Years Driver License Suspension
  •  * MADD Victim Impact Panel
  •  * Morgue Program
  •  * 3-5 years Probation, Formal or Informal